Back to the blog…

March 31, 2010 at 10:36 pm Leave a comment

The Dinner Hour was started two years ago, one summer when produce was plentiful and I was rushing home at 5:30 every day from my job to immerse myself in the enjoyment of fixing our evening meal. It petered out, as most blogs do, because life got busier, more and more rushing and less and less enjoying. There was one long dark period when we went through two rotisserie chickens a week, not because we loved them or even because they were cheap, but because I could grab one during the half-hour I could take from my new 60-hour-a-week job to rush through the grocery store foraging for something – anything – that could be considered quick, and if we were lucky, quasi-healthy.

This January, I walked away from that job, from all the stress and unhealthy behaviors it caused, and started my own business. Now I’m a communicator for hire, the principal/president/you-pick-the-title of Usey Communications, offering editorial, strategic, social media, and creative communications work with a focus on non-profit agencies and small businesses. Not surprisingly, two of my first clients – non-profits both – focus on food, and a third produces a safe plastic that addresses the growing concerns we all have over food containers.

With my own client list and my own priorities to meet, I have more regular hours and more happy energy to invest in dinner. I have more opportunities to get back out into the wonderful, amazing community that is Austin and explore its food offerings. So The Dinner Hour is back, and it’s about more than dinner. The Dinner Hour is really any hour I spend thinking about how to feed and nourish my family and friends and community. It’s time spent preparing meals, sharing meals, having conversation at the kitchen counter or the supper table or at a café under the trees. Please, pull up a chair.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Another Two Dinners’ Worth April Food Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Some of my cookbooks

In no order except for how they appear in my LibraryThing cookbook catalog: True Women Cookbook: Original Antique Recipes, Photographs, & Family Folklore, Janice Woods Windle (1997) * Made in Texas; H-E-B's 100th Anniversary Cookbook (2005) * The Texas Cowboy Cookbook: A History in Recipes and Photos, Robb Walsh (2007) * The Silver Palate Cookbook, Julee Rosso, Sheila Lukins (1982) * In the Land of Cocktails: Recipes and Adventures from the Cocktail Chicks, Ti Adelaide Martin & Lally Brennan (2007) * Braise: A Journey Through International Cuisine, Daniel Boulud (2006) * Moosewood Cookbook : Recipes from Moosewood Restaurant, Mollie Katzen (1977) * Crescent City Cooking: Unforgettable Recipes from Susan Spicer's New Orleans, Susan Spicer (2007) * Saveur Cooks Authentic American: By the Editors of Saveur Magazine, ed. Colman Andrews (1998)

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


